Christmas au Nord de la France

Christmas has officially arrived in Lille! The Christmas market opened a couple weeks ago and last weekend they put up a massive ferris wheel in the Grand Place. I was a little disappointed in the size of the market (I mean the advertisements make it look HUGE), but it was festive nonetheless. We drank hot wine and I had a gauffre (like a mini-waffle with lots of sugar). I assumed the Christmas market would sell all sort of Christmas things, mainly ornaments. Not the case, instead you can buy all sorts of things there, which is great except I was in the market for a cute ornament to send home. We also rode the ferris wheel, which was super windy but totally worth the 4 euros.

Cambrai’s Christmas market starts this weekend! I’m sure its going to be tacky and small, but I’m still excited. Hopefully they’ll turn on the Christmas lights they put up a month ago.

Leave a Reply

