My Decision (as of today…)

Wisconsin. It might be a surprise to some people, but really I think it’ll be the best for both me and James. The degree will be a Masters in French Studies with a focus in International Education. Here are (some) of my reasons:

1). A more focused degree: I could go to UMass but I’m afraid I would be in the same situation I am today, two years from now. With Wisconsin I’ll focus in International Education, but its still very flexible in the classes I take. Plus I’ll do an internship abroad, which will hopefully increase my employment chances as well.

2). Network of people: I’ve already spoken with the director, they’ve invited me to events, parties, etc. Its very well organized and I feel like I will be a part of a really great program.

3). Madison: The cost of living is less than Amherst, plus I think James will be more likely to find a job he enjoys. Without a super long commute. It also means that going to see family won’t always have to be on a plane.

4). Internship in France: Okay, this one is part negative as well, but making work contacts in France is never bad. I just thought the next time I came here would be with James. Luckily the internship just has to be a minimum of 8 weeks. Not so bad…I hate the idea of leaving James alone in a new city though.

5). Better school: just in general, Wisconsin ranks as a better school. This may or may not be a factor in employment, but couldn’t hurt my resume.

Whew! So thats my conclusion so far.

2 thoughts on “My Decision (as of today…)

  1. Congrats, Susan! I’m so happy for you. It’s inspiring to see someone actually go after what they truly want. France, now grad school….what next!? I can’t wait to see 🙂 Love the blog!

Leave a Reply

