Highlights from Paris

My parents were finally able to go home last Thursday! Yay! I felt bad for leaving them at a hotel by the airport, but I think they actually had an okay time. They even ventured out a few times to the village nearby.

Here are a few highlights from our time in Paris. I’ll try to make it less boring by having mostly pictures. 🙂

Our apartment:

Since we were planning on spending 11 nights in Paris, I convinced my parents renting an apartment was the way to go. We’d be able to cook our own meals and have tons more space. Plus finding one hotel room for three people in Paris can be a challenge. So I found this lovely apartment. The only negative was the stairs and the floor sloped quite a bit on one side, but I absolutely loved it. You couldn’t ask for a better location. James and I would live here in a second!

isn't it cute?

our street, so Parisian!

Normandy Landing Beaches:

The place my dad was looking forward to the most. We took a one-day tour through Cityramaand I think he really liked it. So did I!

Dad at Pointe du Hoc (near Utah Beach)

near Utah Beach, bomb craters

Dad standing in one of the bomb craters at Utah Beach

Pointe du Hoc

Dad at Omaha Beach

me and Dad at the memorial on Omaha Beach

the American Cemetery with Omaha Beach in background

Gold Beach

Loire Valley Chateaux:

Another day-trip through Cityrama, another very early morning. It looks really lovely in these pictures, but it was actually quite cool and windy. A family still actually lives in the second one. Wouldn’t that be great?!

Le château de Chenonceau

fancy gardens

beautiful garden where they grow the flowers for the castle grounds

Le château de Cheverny (still inhabited!)

my wedding dress???

Dad in the hunting room

hunting dogs!

Le château de Chambord (my fav!)

Mont Saint Michel:

This one I planned for us since we could easily take a train and then a bus. Plus with my fantastic teacher’s card, I got in free. We took a train from Paris to Dol-de-Bretagne and then there was a bus waiting to take us to the abbey. Very easy, very convenient.

Mont Saint Michel

Mom trying one of the many random doors on our climb up

the cloisters

Dad enjoying all the steps 🙂

Mont St Michel from the bottom

waiting for our bus

Versailles:

Long lines and very crowded, but a must see if you go to Paris. The RER C gets you there easily. The gardens weren’t quite fully bloomed, and we were too exhausted to walk all the way to the Grand/Petit Trianon and the Queen’s Hamlet. Another time.

Versailles

gardens at Versailles

Around Paris:

Between our day trips we had time to do just about everything in Paris. I love this city!

Notre Dame (right near our apt!)

Mom and Dad at the Louvre

Mom and Dad at the Jardin de Luxembourg

hanging out by the little lake at the Jardin de Luxembourg

sunset on our walk home

view from Tour Montparnasse

Eiffel Tower during our boat cruise of the Seine

the church at Les Invalides (also has a very nice military museum)

Lafayette's grave (our first honorary citizen!)

park around Notre Dame on our last day

Spring!

Mom and Notre Dame, I think we take this pic every time we're in Paris

at the inventions museum (very cool!)

4 thoughts on “Highlights from Paris

  1. Pingback: Advice on taking a day-trip in France (plus favorite day-trips from Paris) |

Leave a Reply

