Wedding Post # 7: Bridesmaid Cards & Invitations

Bridesmaid Cards

It’s so secret that I love a good craft project, so when I saw this DIY on how to make bridesmaid cards, I had to give it a shot!

Truth be told: I spent three hours making the first one. It took me forever to get the hair right! But once you figure out you pattern, the other ones come together fairly easily. The tutorial had some seriously amazing calligraphy, but since I’m not talented in that area, I just went for the good ole computer.

Here are a few pics of how mine turned out:

100_2066

100_1996

I mailed them to my bridesmaids (and MOH) about a year before our wedding, but still after we had all of the major decisions made. On the card I included the day/time of our wedding, location, wedding colors, and details about the bridesmaid dress.

Invitations

We knew we didn’t want something really serious or overly fancy – just fun! I found some fun ones at Target, Michael’s, and Joann’s, but nothing was quite as cute as these little owls. (She has a lot of other fun designs, so definitely check out her Etsy store!)

Bonus was that we were able customize the colors! We ended up just purchasing the files and printing them through Cards & Pockets. (We also ordered the dark brown metallic pockets from them.) The printing was easy to order and the quality was great!

The only “do-over” would be either ordering a lighter color pocket or placing a piece of tissue over the invitation (you can even order this from them). On a lot of invitations, the brown from the pocket rubbed off onto the white of the invitation. Bummer. Not quite the look I was going for.

There are lots of “do’s” and “don’ts” when it comes to invitation wording. Since both sets of parents were paying for ours, we felt it was important to have both of their names on there.

P1010749 P1010750 P1010751

Leave a Reply

