Chocolate pear gâteau

A few months before we moved back to the USA, I tried a piece of chocolate pear cake from a random boulangerie/patisserie not too terribly far from our apartment. It was amazing! I managed to go back a few times before we left, but they never had the cake again.

My cake had a crust (maybe I should be calling this a tarte?!), but was not at all custard-like (the chocolate part had a cake-like consistency).

(also pictured: a raspberry éclair and a lime tarte – all delicious!)

Now that I’m back to a full kitchen and all sorts of cooking supplies, I’ve been on a mission to re-create my beloved cake/tarte.  I found this recipe while searching Pinterest, and I have to say, it’s quite close!

image

image

The only change I made was substituting semi-sweet chocolate for dark. Also, make sure not to over cook it. The first time I made it I cooked it too long and the edges were very dry. Take it out when the middle is still slightly gooey (about 33 minutes for me).

Here are a few other recipes I plan on trying: Chocolate Pear Tarte, Martha’s version, and one that seems a little more complicated, but looks soooo much like my favorite!

Leave a Reply

